Love Languages For Singles 3 friends hugging

Since you’ve stumbled upon this article chances are you are single. It’s not surprising since 4 out of 10 adults in the US are single. I’ve been preaching about The Love Languages (A book written by Gary Chapman)  for years. In his first editions, he focused on the love languages for couples. Thankfully he’s come up with the 5 love languages for singles book.


The five love languages for singles and how they will help you

There are five love languages for singles and couples. We all need love, And these five languages will help you figure out what makes you feel satisfied when you’re single. When you understand the concepts of the five love languages, it will help create great relationships in every aspect of your life.


What are the five love languages for singles?

They’re the same for couples too, (just so you know). Here’s a simple bulleted list of the 5 love languages for singles:


  • Acts of service
  • Quality time
  • Physical touch
  • Words of affirmation
  • Gifts


Here is the 5 love languages for singles summary

Most people have one or two of these five love languages that make them feel the most loved and appreciated (but sometimes people like them all!).

2 girls hugging

Which one of the five love languages would be your favorite?

I’m going to dive in just some examples in the following paragraphs about the love languages and their differences. I hope to give you a clear idea of precisely what love languages is yours.  Many people give other people their favorite love language. If you love giving warm hugs physical touch could be your primary love language. We’ll get more into that later.


Acts of service love language

The acts of service love language mean you like people to do things for you. It makes you feel lovely and loved. If your friend takes out your garbage, helps you install your air conditioner,  or offers to mow your grass, these are all examples of the acts of service love language.


The love language of gifts

The love language of gifts is probably your favorite if you love to get presents. It doesn’t have to be something expensive, it could be something as simple as a card, or even a candy bar. When somebody gives you a gift, you know that the other person was thinking about you and it makes you feel great!


The love language of physical touch

When physical touch is your number one love language, you enjoy hugging, holding hands, getting massages, and probably even kissing!  You find yourself giving people you care about hugs whenever you see them. If this sounds like you, physical touch could be one of your primary love languages. If you like some good lovin’ this might be your love language.


Words of affirmation love language

This is a popular one with many singles. The words of affirmation love language mean you like to hear praise and verbal confirmation in a positive way. This could be someone telling you at work that you did a great job on your project, that you’re handsome, or someone loves your outfit.


Quality time love language

The quality time love language means you like to spend time with the people you care about. They are putting their focus attention on your conversation, and want to get to know you. Spending quality time with your friends and family is essential to make you feel loved and understood.

When you have your love languages met, it fills you up.

friends spending quality time over coffee 

It fills up what Gary Chapman calls your love tank. If you don’t get your love languages met, it can make you feel lonely and misunderstood. So what are you supposed to do if you’re single? How do you get your love language is met then?


The first thing I recommend to have conversations about the 5 love languages

Talk with the people you care about. You can tell them which love language is yours and you can ask which one is theirs. People don’t always know what you want. And a simple conversation is the best way to help you get your needs met when you’re single. It can also help you solve best friend problems.


Understanding other people’s love languages will make all of your relationships better

If you think your boss’s love language is physical touch, you can give them a pat on the back or make sure to shake their hand in the morning (as long as these are appropriate). If you believe your best friend’s love language is affirmations,  tell her you to appreciate her, or you love her purse. Love never runs out, and if you share your love with the people in your life you’ll be filling up their love tank, and they’ll be more likely to help you fill up yours.

Lots of Love,

Dina Colada


Dina Colada is a contributing author at Secure Single LLC. You can connect with her at for loads of dating advice and profile makeovers or on Instagram.


Secure Single provides a forum for a diverse variety of perspectives, ideas, experiences, and resources and does not take official stances. All writers speak exclusively for themselves. Concurrently, any quotes, shares, reposts, interviews, etc. do not imply endorsement by Secure Single LLC or its curators. Now go live your best single life!


Share :
Dina has been mostly single for much of her adult life with lots of dating in between some short, yet growth-centered relationships. She has devoted most of her time to helping singles thrive while on the path to love. She is multi-passionate and loves to connect with other entrepreneurs— Especially ones that are single!
Related Posts

Leave Your Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.